About us

About the Commonwealth Blue Charter

The Commonwealth Blue Charter is an agreement by all 54 Commonwealth countries, adopted at the Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting in London, April 2018. In the Blue Charter, Commonwealth countries agree to actively cooperate to solve ocean-related problems and meet commitments for sustainable ocean development, with particular emphasis on the UN Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), especially SDG 14 (Life Below Water).

Commonwealth Blue Charter Action Groups implement the Blue Charter. They are member-driven, led by ‘Champion’ countries’. To date, 16 countries have stepped forward to be Champions on ten topics they identified as priorities. Action Groups will unlock the power of 54 nations and guide the development of tools and training, they are: Commonwealth Clean Ocean Alliance, Coral Reef Protection and Restoration, Mangrove Ecosystems and Livelihoods, Marine Protected Areas, Ocean Acidification, Ocean and Climate Change, Ocean Observation, Sustainable Aquaculture, Sustainable Blue Economy and Sustainable Coastal Fisheries.

About the Commonwealth

The Commonwealth is a voluntary association of 54 independent and equal sovereign states. It is home to 2.4 billion people and includes both advanced economies and developing countries. Thirty-two of our members are small states, 25 of which are small island developing states. Forty-seven members have a marine coastline. Globally, Commonwealth marine waters account for over one-third (35%) of national marine jurisdictions. Our shared values and principles are inscribed in the Commonwealth Charter (2013), which is the bedrock of the Commonwealth Blue Charter (2018).


Download reports and documents about Commonwealth Blue Charter:





Download The Commonwealth Blue Charter

The Commonwealth Blue Charter – Shared Values, Shared Ocean. A Commonwealth commitment to work together to protect and manage our ocean.